Musical Wisdom

I may absolutely loathe my music appreciation class, but you know what I don’t loathe and actually appreciate???? Yup, MUSIC. So, I thought that I would bank on the extra hour of sleep I’m getting tonight, stay up a little later, and share with y’all some of my very super awesome favorite songs. Some of these songs I discovered through movies, some through commercials, some through friends, some through watching strangers’ cheesy wedding videos on the Internet (one of mine and my roommate’s favorite pastimes).

Just so y’all know, I am a VERY poor decision maker, and there was a shameful amount of time and thought put into making this list. I started questioning everything: “Does this song really qualify as one of my FAVORITES?” Luckily, I got through that struggle and compiled a list of what are arguably the greatest songs ever gifted to humanity. Hold on tight, guys.

stand by me / ben e. king | unmatched. unrivaled. unparalleled. CLASSIC.

all i want / kodaline | how was such a beautiful song even conceived????

whisper / the dear hunter | newest obsession.

my body / young the giant | newest-er obsession.

bad blood / taylor swift | LOVE 1989. I’ve never been a crazy Swiftie, but I love the new direction she has taken with this new album. Bad Blood is easily my favorite song from the album.

hawaiian roller coaster ride / lilo & stitch soundtrack | no one can object to this song’s magical happiness.

the boxer / jerry douglas feat. mumford & sons (but really just mumford) | they make simon and garfunkel irrelevant.

build your kingdom here / rend collective | a mastery with the perfect amount of zing and pep.

riptide / vance joy | OVERDOSE ON ZING AND PEP

rivers and roads / the head and the heart | no zing and pep, and if you’re a high school senior, it might make you cry… but that’s okay.

amazing grace (my chains are gone) / chris tomlin | an amazing song. (get it????)

no angels / bastille feat. ella eyre | try not to focus on the fact that a near 30 year old man is belting TLC lyrics. trust me, it’s great.

skinny love / birdy | a fantastic rendition of skinny love

come on eileen / dexy’s midnight runners | a nonsensical classic

in the still of the night / the five satins | a doo-wop sensation

dead sea / the lumineers | i fell in love with the lumineers the way you fall asleep… slowly, then all at once.

somewhere only we know / keane | proudly discovered this song in a winnie the pooh commercial.

cavalier / james vincent mcmorrow | this man has graced the world with his beautiful voice. (ps, i made a really weird music video to this song last year, and y’all should check it out at http://youtu.be/D4W0S82TmXs?list=UUFV1WTS-MiYacuyJ9Der8NQ)

OCEANS / hillsong united | are you even a Christian if you don’t like this song????????????????????????????????????????

till kingdom come / coldplay | found this gem in the amazing spiderman, and the kingdom which it speaks of came february 25, 2013.

i have decided to follow jesus | best hymn in the books. it’s fantastic no matter who sings it, but i’m partial to phil wickham.

I think that’s all that I have for now, friends. There’s a 83.4% chance that I forgot a song, but that’s alright! I’m sure that my musical tastebuds will continue to evolve, and one day I’ll probably look back at this post in disgust at my current musical taste. I can’t wait. But for now, I hope that my musical wisdom has INSPIRED many of you friends!

more musical wisdom to come,

llamalindsey

One thought on “Musical Wisdom

Leave a Reply

