Lengthy (Re)introductions

So, I decided to start blogging again. (!!!) And actual years have passed, y’all.

Actual. Years.

It’s no secret that I’m an incredibly inconsistent blogger, but I feel like I’ve reached a new level this time. (Is there, like, a medal for this??)

Usually, whenever I decide to drag this blog out from the depths of the internet, I follow a certain framework for this awkward Hey-I’m-Back post:

  1. Apologize profusely for abandoning the massive audience of readers that I like to imagine I have
  2. Write stuff??

Well, would y’all be okay if we just skipped the first part today? If you look closely, I think you can see my apologies etched in the words I’m writing now. We’re good, right?

Right.

So… hello again, internet! It feels good to be back.

The last time I wrote on this sweet lil blog was April 2015, and I was finishing up my freshman year of college! Man, y’all, things have changed since then. I finished my freshman year strong, and sophomore year consisted of arguably one of my lowest valleys and one of my highest mountains. The valley? I like to call it my “death semester.” I got my first B… aaaaaaand it would have been a C, had it not been for my professor’s grace. (Don’t laugh – getting a B is like hitting a brick wall for this human.) The B definitely wasn’t the only thing to go wrong that semester, but by the grace of God, I made it through without losing *all* my crap.

The mountain? Well, it’s actually a continent, and I like to call it EUROPE. That’s right, I CLIMBED THAT MOUNTAIN, Y’ALL. Somehow, everything fell into place, and I got to spend an entire semester living in England and gallivanting around Europe. It was so dreamy, guys. Even when I missed a train, threw up on a plane, spent waaaay too much money, ran through airports, sat through really awkward and tense we-have-spent-way-too-much-time-together-and-I-want-to-kill-you dinners with my best friends – it was all dreamy. (Like, in the moment, throwing up on a crowded airplane really, really sucked, but I mean, I’d eat churros in Barcelona again. Because, um, dreamy.) I traveled to 8 countries, flew on about 20 airplanes (jumped out of one, too!!!), and rode on about 30 different trains. I grew up a lot. I fell in love with learning all over again, I figured out how to do hard things by myself, I calmly navigated some really panicky situations, I thankfully learned about alcohol very far away from America’s culture of excess. LONG STORY SHORT, I went to Europe. I bought a lot of mugs. It was so much fun that I probably wouldn’t have come back if it were legal.

So, I’m back in America now, but you KNOW that I’m drinkin’ out of my European mugs on the daily. Last semester was a balanced mixture of some highs and some lows, and I cannot believe that I’ve only got 3 semesters of college left. When did I get old??? I mean, guys, I just moved into my very first apartment, and last night, I made CHILI. Like, I HAD TO BUY GROUND BEEF AND COOK IT IN A PAN THAT I OWN AND THEN USE IT TO MAKE CHILI IN A POT THAT I ALSO OWN. THEN I ATE IT, AND BEHOLD, IT WAS GOOD. I took a selfie with my chili and sent it to my mom because I was so proud of my chili that only required four ingredients and at least twenty help-me-I’m-not-old-enough-to-make-chili-yet texts to my mom. (By the way – can we just appreciate housing scholarships?? Like, I’m living in an apartment with its own LAUNDRY ROOM. And GRANITE COUNTERTOPS. And I have no idea how much those things cost in real life!!! But this I know: I am going to be a social worker, and my precious chili will probably never again be spilled on a granite countertop.)

So – I’ve moved into a cushy apartment with fancy countertops, and my first class of spring semester only lasted about 30 minutes. I would say this semester is off to a pretty hot start, y’all. I’ve got a TON up my sleeve for this next chapter of my life. A few highlights: I’m taking New Testament, and I’m *so* excited to learn about the Bible + dive into the New Testament in an academic setting. I’m kicking off my thesis research, too! (I’m actually terrified, but I’m determined to create something that’ll rock your socks off.) Also, I’m gearing up for a really incredible summer internship! I’ll have more deets to come, but trust me, you’re gonna hear way too much about it.

It’s only Day One, but I feel good, y’all. I haven’t seen it in writing, but I’m *pretty* sure the second semester of junior year is supposed to be one for the books. I’m gonna do my best to make this semester its own kind of dreamy, so I’m counting on you guys to hold me accountable on this whole blogging thing. Just, like, find me and give me a really solid whack over the head if I slack on the posts.

It feels good to be back, y’all.

Your girl,

Llamalindsey

Leave a Reply

